Ipad 2: The hands on review !!!

Last friday evening, after rushing to the nearest apple store after office and standing in line for couple of hours, I had in my hand – Ipad 2. The new king of tablets !!! Or is it? You will find out at the end of this blog post 🙂

Hardware:

I am not going to go too deep into the specs of this cool device, since my favorite site Engadget has done the needful. Here is an article that compares the iPad 2’s hardware with its competitors. As you can see, the Motorola Xoom probably edges out the ipad 2 in specs. But I Have fallen for the hardware before and know from experience that its NOT a fair indicator of the ultimate device experience.

In terms of design iPad2 leaves everybody behind. Its amazingly cool looking and sleek (I still can’t believe how thin it is) and more importantly, the lightest. I have handled the Motorola Xoom and believe me, you will immediately notice how thick and bulky it is (Walk into a Verizon store and try it yourself). I think thats a big Pro for iPad in terms of usability. Also, in terms of speed, I think iPad 2 will leave everybody behind. The synergy of its own SW and HW is what Apple thrives on and iPad 2 is fast. Real Fast. I compared it with my old iPad and for same operations in some apps, the iPad2 was almost 2x to 3x times faster. Of course, other more credible people also agree. Also, the battery life lives up to its legendary 10 hours.

Also, the hdmi mirroring, “smart covers” and advanced airplay are some real cool features included with the ipad 2.

However, I was disappointed with the camera quality on the iPad 2. I think there is just one purpose for those on the iPad 2 – video chatting (which was of pretty good quality when I tried Facetime).  Otherwise, the videos that I took were of OK quality.

Software:

Again, I am not going to go too deep into the iOS features. I am assuming that you have used the iPhone or the old iPad. If not, you are missing out. Again, its all about the apps. As I recently tweeted, the iPad has over 70,000 apps written specifically for it. Android 3.0 has probably 50 and the rest of the competition is not even out with their products. Thats a HUGE advantage for the iPad.

The iPad 2 has dual core processors. Many of the apps available right now for iPad are designed to utilize the old hardware and are not designed to use the new power of iPad2. However, some of the games that have come out (e.g. Infinity Blade) are amazing to play on the ipad2. And the fact that its sleeker and lighter makes the gaming experience much better.

One cool app that Apple released is GarageBand. Though this works on the old iPad, its blazingly faster on iPad 2. What it does is that it allows you to record songs with 8 separate tracks and provides amazing tools for creating those tracks. Here is apple’s page for Garage Band.  iMovie is another great app.

Take a look at the guided tours of the cool features that iPad 2 provides.

Of course, the flaw of iPad 2 and the only advantage that its competition touts is Adobe Flash support. Motorola Xoom just recently got its Flash Player and that’s one thing that will work in its advantage. However, don’t get too excited, most of the Flash content out there is not very touch interface friendly yet and don’t make up for the lack of targeted apps.

Bottomline:

I do think that the iPad2 is the coolest gadget out there. There may be tablets out there that have a better hardware specs, but nobody has its complete story together like Apple. Android is in the best position to catch up, but I don’t see that happening for atleast another 2 years.

If you are in the market for a new tablet, iPad 2 is the definitive choice in my opinion. The hardware is almost the same with most of the competition out there. The better design and the apps advantage makes it a no brainer.

If you have an ipad 1 and thinking of upgrading, you may want to wait. The cameras are not that great however the extra speed does matter. And as happened with iphone 3GS and iphone 4, most of the new apps coming out may be optimized for ipad 2 or may exclusively work on the ipad 2. However, when that happens, you can get it.  So I think that you can wait unless you have the extra dough 🙂

I had different reasons for upgrading. I had deliberately bought the lowest model of iPad 1 just because I knew I was going to upgrade to higher model. And I just won an extra 1 in a raffle that I was able to sell 🙂 And of course, the main reason is:

Now no more fights over iPad. Each of us has his own 🙂

Leave a Reply

